Sponsor Resources

Oregon Revised Statute (ORS)

Oregon Administrative Rule

Sponsoring an Enterprise Zone

Currently, Oregon enterprise zones are sponsored by:

  • 2 (out of 9) Indian Tribes,
  • 30 (out of 36) counties,
  • 12 (out of 23) ports and
  • 123 (out of 241) cities.

In addition, 20 other cities, 10 other ports, and 3 other counties currently consent to zones within their territory that are sponsored by overlapping jurisdictions.

Designations for Local Governments

Communities across Oregon that do not already have an enterprise zone are welcome to designate one at any time, 45 days after formally advising Business Oregon of the city, port and county governments' intent to do so. There is no longer a statewide limitation on the number of total designations.

State statutes still specify requirements for which Business Oregon determines the zone's satisfaction. In particular, the law sets out the following local economic hardship criteria, of which one needs to be met: (1) Household median income is 80% or less of state median income, or (2) Unemployment rate is 2 percentage points or more higher than the state unemployment rate, based on the most recent annual figures. Business Oregon can consider alternative but equally severe threshold criteria, as addressed in administrative rule.

Each enterprise zone terminates at the latest on July 1 after more than 10 years, at which time local governments may re-designate it. The boundary of the zone does not need to be contiguous (except for reservation partnership zones), but it must conform to maximums for total area and distances within the zone. Zone boundaries may likewise be amended at any time, including the addition of other jurisdictions as cosponsors, with the submission of executed resolutions, maps and other documentation to Business Oregon. These zones terminate programmatically on June 30, 2025.

Tribally-Sponsored Zones

Special enterprise zones for Indian Tribes, which may also include local government cosponsors, are subject to their own parameters and allowances. Learn more >>