Eastern Oregon Border Economic Development Region Board

The Eastern Oregon Border Economic Development Board was created in the 2017 legislative session to implement investment strategies and practices in workforce and economic development in the region and to make loans or grants to eligible applicants for encouraging regional workforce and economic development.

MapThe board has seven voting members and one nonvoting member appointed by the Governor. Voting members serve four-year terms, and are eligible for reappointment for a total of two consecutive terms. The board created a non-voting Border Fund Finance Advisory Committee to advise, inform and make recommendations to the board.

The Eastern Oregon Border area is defined that part of Oregon that is within 20 miles of the Oregon border with the state of Idaho; that includes, but is not limited to the cities of Ontario, Nyssa, and Vale; includes Willow Creek and Brogan; is an area in Oregon that is across the border from Weiser, Idaho; and is an area southwest of Vale for a distance of 10 miles.

Voting Board Members

Shawna Peterson

Appointed Dec 2017
Term expires 2020

Shawna Peterson Shawna Peterson is the attorney owner of S Peterson Law, LLC in Ontario, Oregon. Her practice is focused on advising businesses and estate planning, with special expertise in serving farm and ranch clients. Her legal career began in 2002 in Omaha, Nebraska, where she also gained experience in business transactions and civil litigation. Peterson is involved in a number of local and regional organizations and is a frequent guest speaker on topics within her professional expertise.

Peterson received her law degree from Lewis & Clark College Northwestern School of Law, is a graduate of Gonzaga University, and is licensed to practice in Oregon, Idaho, and formerly Nebraska.

Tiffany Cruickshank

Appointed Dec 2017
Term expires 2018

Tiffany Cruickshank Tiffany Cruickshank is a Transportation Manager & Sales at Snake River Produce Company, LLC—a packer and shipper of dry bulb onions located in Nyssa, Oregon, where she has been since 2010. Before coming to Snake River Produce, she taught business classes at Nyssa High School and worked for another local produce company. During her time spent in the Idaho-Eastern Oregon onion growing region, she has taken on many roles—from President of the Idaho-Oregon Fruit & Vegetable Association in 2016-17 to serving on the Idaho Eastern Oregon Onion Promotion Committee and Chairing the Idaho-Oregon Fruit & Vegetable Association Scholarship Committee.

Cruickshank earned her Bachelor of Science in Business Administration: Marketing from University of Oregon and a Master of Business Administration from Eastern Oregon University.

Bill Johnson

Appointed Dec 2017
Term expires 2019

Bill Johnson Bill Johnson is the owner of Loft Property Management, the largest private apartment manager in Malheur County. Bill joined Microsoft after college where he led the design of early versions of Microsoft Excel. Later, he served as a Vice President at InterNAP, an internet routing optimization firm. He created Sage Farms, which was one of the largest row crop operations in the Treasure Valley. He is a founding member of Malheur County Poverty to Prosperity, is a trustee at Eastern Oregon University and serves on several other business and civic boards.

Johnson has a Bachelor of Science in Aeronautics and Astronautics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Stuart Reitz

Appointed Dec 2017
Term expires 2018

Stuart Reitz Stuart Reitz joined Oregon State University's Malheur County Extension Office in August 2012, where he holds an extension, research, and administrative appointment. As an extension faculty member, he addresses the agricultural interests and needs of Malheur County and neighboring areas of southwestern Idaho. He works most closely with onion and potato growers to improve their production practices and pest management programs, to ensure the quality and safety of their crops, and to promote their economic viability. He delivers information to growers, crop consultants, and the public through workshops, presentations, extension publications, one-on-one consultations, and a biweekly newspaper column. As County Leader for the Extension office, he serves as the primary liaison for the University to local governments and stakeholders. Prior to Oregon State University, Stuart served for 13 years as a research entomologist with the USDA Agricultural Research Service in Tallahassee, FL, where he conducted research on the ecology and management of insects that transmit plant pathogens.

Reitz has a B.S. in biology from the University of South Alabama, a M.Sc. in zoology and a Ph.D. in entomology from Clemson University.

Ralph Poole

Appointed Dec 2017
Term expires 2019

Ralph Poole Ralph Poole is part owner and CEO of Energy Transport, LLC; Campo & Poole Distributing, LLC; and P C Energy, LLC. Ralph currently serves on the Scholarship selection committee for Oregon Community Foundation, Eastern Oregon; chair of the Ontario City Planning Commission; and member of the St Luke's Hospital Western Treasure Valley Advisory Board.

Poole is a graduate of Oregon State University.

Priscilla Valero

Appointed Dec 2017
Term expires 2021

Priscilla Valero Priscilla Valero Hernandez is employed with Eastern Oregon University Ontario Center and serve on the St. Peter's Catholic School Advisory Board. She has been involved with other non-profit organizations in Ontario like Boys and Girls Club of Western Treasure Valley, Giggles and Grace, and Four Rivers Community School, as well as served on the American Association of Women in Community Colleges, and TVCC Diversity Council.

Valero earned a Bachelor's degree from University of Oregon in Psychology and a master's degree from Adams State University in Higher Education Administration and Leadership.

Dana Young

Appointed Dec 2017
Term expires 2020

Dana Young Dana M. Young has served as president of Treasure Valley Community College since July 2010 when she became TVCC's first female president. With more than 30 years of community college administrative experience, President Young has dedicated her career to increasing access for students and building quality services to meet student needs. Before coming to TVCC, Young spent seven years as the Vice President of Student Affairs at Northwest College in Powell, Wyoming. Prior to moving to Wyoming, Young worked at Blue Mountain Community College for more than 17 years. At BMCC she held several leadership positions including Vice President/Dean of Student & Enrollment Services, Associate Dean of Enrollment Services and Director of Financial Aid.

Young has a master's degree in business administration from Portland State University and a bachelor's of science degree in business economics from Eastern Oregon University. She has completed all of the coursework for a doctorate degree in community college leadership from Colorado State University and is completing her research and dissertation.

Chris Harder, Director, Business Oregon


Chris Harder

Chris Harder is Director of Business Oregon, appointed by Governor Kate Brown in March of 2016. Chris leads the agency in its work to help businesses grow in Oregon and see that economic opportunity is reaching each corner of the state. Prior to that Chris served as economic development director of PDC, Director of Economic Analysis for the North Carolina Department of Commerce, and a Senior Budget Analyst in the North Carolina Office of State Budget and Management.

Border Fund Finance Advisory Committee

Ken Hart
Doug Lamm
Jed Myers
Ralph Poole, liaison to the Eastern Oregon Border Board
Paul Zollner