Business Oregon Commission

The commission oversees the agency's activities to ensure a coherent, integrated approach to economic development and a continuous policy direction that can transcend changes in executive and legislative leadership. The commission has appointed a five-member Finance Committee to act as its designee on matters related to Business Finance.

Commission Members

Kanth Gopalpur

Appointed Feb 2016, Reappointed
Term expires June 2020

Kanth GopalpurKanth Gopalpur is an entrepreneur and angel investor who helped found Powell's original online bookstore in 1995, then launched a career in e-commerce. As founder and CEO of software company Monsoon Works, Kanth led the company through rapid, profitable growth. The company's more than 1,000 customers used its software to process more than $1 billion in online sales. Monsoon Works appeared on the Inc. 500 list for three straight years and was a winner of the Oregon Entrepreneurs Network's Working Capital Company of the Year before it was sold to a private equity group in 2010. Kanth is now principal of Kestrel Advisors and serves as an advisor and angel investor to tech startups. He has served on the boards of the Oregon Growth Account, TiE Oregon and several private companies. Kanth also previously served as Business Oregon's first entrepreneur in residence.

Jessica Gomez

Appointed July 2015, Reappointed
Term expires June 2023

Commissioner Jessica GomezJessica Gomez developed a love of high-tech entrepreneurship working at Standard Microsystems and Integrated Micromachines. In 2003, she moved to Southern Oregon and founded Rogue Valley Microdevices, the first microelectronics manufacturing company in Southern Oregon. Gomez supports a number of community and economic development causes. She is co-chair of the Oregon Workforce Investment Board and is the chair of the Rogue Workforce Partnership. She earned a liberal arts degree from Suffolk Community College.

Paula Hayes

Appointed September 2016
Term expires June 2020

Commissioner Paula HayesPaula Hayes is the founder and CEO of Hue Noir, LLC, a cosmetics manufacturing company. She is an entrepreneurial cosmetics chemist with a degree in biology. Her success and business acumen led to senior management positions in business development, finance, marketing, strategic planning, and operations at companies including Jobete Music, Ajilon Financial, and Northwestern Mutual. Paula graduated from Lewis & Clark College with a B.S. in biology and has an MBA from the University of Phoenix. She currently is a member of the Board of Trustees at Lewis and Clark College where she is co-chair of the Academic Affiars and Student Life Committee.

Tom Insko

Appointed July 2018
Term expires June 2022

Tom InskoTom Insko is the 12th president of Eastern Oregon University and a native of eastern Oregon. Prior to joining the University, he was the area manager of Boise Cascade's Inland Region. He worked for Boise Cascade for 20 years holding a variety of leadership positions. Additionally, he managed state and federal forest policy activities for the company.

Insko is a graduate of EOU with degrees in mathematics and business economics; and a master's of business administration from the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Virginia. He serves as a member of the Oregon State Board of Forestry and the Western Resources Legal Center board of directors; and was past president of the EOU Foundation.

Raymond C. Cheung

Appointed February 2020
Term expires June 2021

Commissioner Katherin LamRaymond Cheung is a CPA specializing in international accounting with a primary focus in the Asia Pacific market and industry experience in manufacturing, distribution, and technology. Raymond currently works at Geffen Mesher and is a board and council member for a number of economic development and community organizations. Prior to coming to the U.S., Raymond was a semi-professional long distance runner and was even endorsed by Reebok Hong Kong. Raymond employs the same tenacious spirt he cultivated during his running career in his professional life and was named on Portland Business Journal's "Forty Under 40" list, an annual recognition of the region's business leaders.

Keith A. Leavitt

Appointed July 2015, Reappointed
Term expires June 2023

Commissioner Keith LeavittKeith A. Leavitt oversees the Port of Portland's maritime and aviation commercial business development and its real estate portfolio. He works closely with Oregon's top traded-sector companies and maintains key relationships with the companies and people engaged in global trade. Before joining the Port of Portland in 1999, Leavitt managed ports and economic development programs at Business Oregon. Leavitt earned a bachelor's degree in political science from Oregon State University.

Kelley Minty Morris

Appointed September 2017
Term expires June 2021

Kelley Minty Morris Elected Klamath County Commissioner in 2014, Kelley Minty Morris is passionate about improving economic opportunities in rural Oregon. Kelley is a Trustee for Oregon Tech, is co-chair of the Association of Oregon Counties Health and Human Services Committee, serves on the Southwest Oregon Resource Advisory Council for the Bureau of Land Management, and co-chairs the Steering Committee for the Blue Zones Project to improve community health outcomes.

Kelley grew up in the Willamette Valley, graduating Summa Cum Laude from Pacific Lutheran University. Kelley moved to Klamath Falls to start her 12-year journalism career as a reporter and anchor for KOTI-TV. She went on to work in television in upstate New York as well, before returning to Klamath County. Kelley spent five years as the communications and outreach manager for the non-profit Citizens for Safe Schools before running for elected office.

Senator Betsy Johnson

Appointed November 2005

Senator Betsy JohnsonBetsy Johnson (D-Scappoose) is serving her second term in the Oregon Senate. She joined the Senate after being appointed to fill the District 16 position formerly held by Sen. Joan Dukes. The appointment came as Sen. Johnson began her 3rd term in the Oregon House of Representatives.

A licensed commercial pilot of both fixed and rotor-wing aircraft, she founded Transwestern Helicopters, Inc., in 1978. The helicopter division of the firm was sold in 1993 and the company, now known as Transwestern Aviation, Inc., is managed by her husband, John Helm.

Sen. Johnson has served on numerous local, regional and national boards and commissions, including the Oregon Health Sciences University Foundation, Doernbecher Children's Hospital, the Oregon Public Broadcasting Foundation, the High Desert Museum and is a former Director of the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco. Sen. Johnson currently serves on a number of regional boards: she was most recently elected as a member of the Board of Visitors, Northwestern School of Law of Lewis and Clark College. She also serves as the Vice-President of the Samuel S. Johnson Foundation.

Sen. Johnson received her undergraduate degree in History from Carleton College in Northfield, Minnesota, and her Law degree from the Northwestern School of Law, Lewis & Clark College.

Representative Janelle Bynum

Appointed March 2017

Rep. Janelle BynamJanelle Bynum is serving her first term as State Representative during Oregon's 2017 legislative session. She represents the residents of House District 51, which covers parts of Clackamas county.

Rep. Bynum is Vice-Chair of the committee on Business and Labor, as well as serving on the committees on Early Childhood and Family Supports, and Higher Education and Workforce Development.

Janelle operates her family's small business, running two restaurants, where she enjoys mentoring employees, providing scholarships to continue their education, and encouraging them to dream big. Janel has a Bachelor's degree in Electrical Engineering and a Master's in Business Administration.