Council Members

The Oregon InC is responsible for developing a state plan for innovation and economic competitiveness. The plan is updated every biennium with a report to the Governor and Legislature every year. Council membership consists of 15 voting members appointed by the Governor and 5 non-voting members appointed by the Governor, Legislative leadership or prescribed in statute. Each voting member serves a two-year term, with the possiblilty of reappointment for one additional term.

Voting Members

Erin FlynnErin Flynn, Council Chair

Portland State University
Appointed July 2017
Term expires June 2019

Erin Flynn is Associate Vice President for Strategic Partnerships at Portland State University. In this role she aggregates and connects university assets—human capital, research, technology and innovation—with strategic business and civic partners to deliver on the region's highest priority economic, social and environmental goals.

Ben CannonBen Cannon

Higher Education Coordinating Commission

Ben Cannon is the Executive Director of Oregon's Higher Education Coordinating Commission (HECC) where he oversees state funding allocations, policy-setting, and coordination for Oregon's higher education system, including community colleges and public universities. Ben is a former teacher, state representative and education policy advisor to Oregon Gov. John Kitzhaber. He earned his BA from Washington University, St. Louis, and attended Oxford University, England, on a Rhodes Scholarship, earning graduate degrees in comparative and international education and philosophy, politics, and economics.

Daniel DorsaDaniel Dorsa, PhD

Oregon Health and Sciences University
Appointed July 2017
Term expires June 2019

Daniel Dorsa, PhD, joined OHSU in 2001 as Vice President for Research. In this role, he administers and coordinates academic research and ensures compliance at OHSU's three schools and several free-standing research institutes and centers. As senior vice president for research, Dr. Dorsa oversees several NIH-funded research entities including the Oregon Clinical and Translational Research Institute and the Oregon National Primate Research Center.

Kristen GraingerKristen Grainger

Oregon Alliance of Independent Colleges and Universities
Appointed July 2017
Term expires June 2019

Kristen Grainger was appointed President of The Alliance in January 2017 to represent and advance the collective aspirations and interests of Oregon's 18 private, nonprofit, colleges, and universities. Prior to joining The Alliance, Grainger served as Gov. Kate Brown's communications director for her first two years in office; 13 years as Willamette University's vice president and assistant to the President; directed communications for the Ted Kulongoski for Governor campaign (2002), directed public affairs for Oregon Attorney General Hardy Myers (1996-2002), principal and co-founder of Gainger & Tresidder, Inc. Grainger graduated from the University of Washington in 1988.

Ian LombardIan Lombard

BroadPeak Capital
Appointed July 2017
Term expires June 2019

Ian Lombard is the Managing Partner of Skyline Capital, a Portland-based Venture Growth investment fund focused on apparel, footwear and gear companies in the Active Lifestyle market. Skyline targets companies at a growth inflection point, where consumer demand has been proven, but further expansion requires additional capital and operational scale.

Chris HarderChris Harder

Business Oregon

Chris Harder is Director of Business Oregon, appointed by Governor Kate Brown in March of 2016. Chris leads the agency in its work to help businesses grow in Oregon and see that economic opportunity is reaching each corner of the state. Chris has master's degrees in City and Regional Planning and Public Administration from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He earned a bachelor's degree in Business Administration from the University of Puget Sound.

Ramamurthy SivakumarSivakumar Ramamurthy

Intel Capital
Appointed July 2017
Term expires June 2019

Sivakumar Ramamurthy is Vice President and Managing Director at Intel Capital responsible for managing the Client Computing Sector and runs the Ultrabook and Perceptual Computing funds. He has a Bachelor's degree in engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kharagpur, India, and a Master's degree in Computer Science from New Mexico Tech, New Mexico, USA. He also holds a joint US Patent in network-based audio/video processing using multicast technology.

Vidya SpandanaVidya Spandana

Appointed December 2017
Term expires June 2018

Vidya Spandana is a tech entrepreneur, an advisor to city and federal government, and an advocate for partnerships between the private and public sector. Vidya is a strategic advisor to the city of Portland and has been integral to the design, development and launch of the Early Adopter Program: a marketplace for private sector tech solutions within city government agencies. She currently serves as the Chief Growth Officer for Popily, a data science startup.

State Treasurer Tobias ReadTobias Read

Oregon State Treasurer

Tobias Read was elected Oregon's 29th State Treasurer in 2016. Prior to that, Read served in the Oregon House of Representatives where he championed legislation to invest in public education, improve state financial management, finance critical infrastructure improvements, and worked to help Oregonians save for a more secure future. He earned his bachelor's degree from Willamette University and his MBA from the Michael G. Foster School of Business at the University of Washington.

Non-voting Members

Sen. Fred Girod, Senate Republican
Sen. Betsy Johnson, Senate Democrat
Rep. David Gomberg, House Democrat
Rep. Rich Vial, House Republican
Kanth Gopalpur, Business Oregon Commission Chair

Technical Advisors

David Almodovar, GCM Grosvenor Private Markets
David Conover, University of Oregon
Gordon Hoffman, Northwest Technology Ventures
Andrea Klaas, Port of the Dalles
Denise McCarty, Oregon Bio Association
David McFeeters-Krone, Intellectual Assets Corp
Bill Newman, Northwest Technology Ventures
Kedma Ogh, Small Business Development Center
Adrian Roberts, Battelle
Cynthia Sagers, Oregon State University