2018 Oregon Brownfields Awards

Recognizing Brownfield Achievements in Redeveloping Oregon's Communities

The Oregon Brownfields Awards recognize individuals and groups who worked together to solve the critical environmental challenge of transforming brownfields sites into productive reuses. The Awards honor those who have implemented innovative, yet practical, cleanup projects that stimulated economic development through job creation or retention, addressed a critical community development need, and/or resulted in significant protection of human health and the environment. The awards showcase these successes and publicize them as models for other communities around the state.

The Oregon Department of Environmental Quality and Business Oregon invite community groups, organizations, city/county officials and individuals working to revitalize contaminated properties to submit project nominations for the 7th Oregon Brownfields Awards. The winners will be announced during the 2018 Oregon Brownfields Conference, April 29–May 1, 2018, at Salishan Resort in Gleneden Beach, Oregon.

There are two award categories—Projects and the Unsung Hero.

Nominated Projects are encouraged to submit a 30" by 30" poster of the project, which will be on display during the entire two-day 2018 Oregon Brownfields Conference event.

Recommended Poster Criteria

  1. Poster text and photos should demonstrate the challenges, solutions, and uniqueness of key project elements.
  2. Posters should emphasis high-quality photos and graphics over written text.
  3. Poster text should include information about funding sources, project proponents, and a brief history of the project site.


All nominations must be received by March 30, 2018.


  • Any individual, group, company, organization, government body or agency that is familiar with a project may submit a nomination.
  • The project:
    • Must be in Oregon.
    • Must have been completed between January 1, 2010, and March 1, 2018. (A project is deemed complete if it is actively serving some or all of its intended end use.)
    • Involved property(ies) that were contaminated by petroleum and/or hazardous substances–or suspected of having such contamination.
  • Project types may include, but are not limited to, a private enterprise, a public facility, an industrial reuse of a brownfields site, or an environmental restoration project.

Award Criteria

An independent panel of state, environmental, business, and academic professionals will evaluate the submittals and select up to four project winners. The award criteria are designed to recognize both small and large entities and projects, in both rural and urban parts of the state. Successful nominations will demonstrate how their project achieved:

  1. A balance of economic and quality of life improvements to the local community; and/or
  2. Significant environmental gains, such as through the removal of persistent soil/groundwater contamination, creation of green space, or focus on sustainability through design (i.e., LEED certification, energy efficiency, storm water reduction).

Project descriptions should provide examples of measurable results and/or impact such as jobs created and/or retained, increased revenues to the local tax base, decreased crime rates, improved child health and safety.

Finally, the panel will select a winner of a special award category—the Chris Poole-Jones Unsung Hero Award. This award will recognize an individual or organization that demonstrated leadership and perseverance in working through the issues, motivated and educated the community, and made the brownfields redevelopment dream a reality; or who has through his or her active participation in issues associated with contaminated properties contributed substantially to the status of brownfields redevelopment in Oregon.

Nomination Process and Application Form